Holly Assumption Church
Ruma, Stanka Paunovic Veljka 190,
The temple was built from 1758 to 1761 through donations of the parishioners. Nova Ruma Parish of that time had 92 Orthodox homes. The temple has a solid construction, a stone foundation, and a tiled roof. It was consecrated by archbishop Pavle Nenadovic, on 1. June 1762. Iconostasis , unique in Serbia, was painted by Stefan Tenecki, a Serb from Arad (Rumania), in 1772. Pantelejmon Hranisavljevic was the church’s first priest and also the founder of the first junior high school in Ruma. He served in this church from 1756 to 1796, and is buried in Krusedol monastery.